Russia Geography Dagestan


Dagestan is the third largest republic in the Russian Federation. It is also the most densely populated and multi-national in the Caucasus. It is difficult to find another place where, on such a comparatively small area, so many peoples speak so many different languages and follow so many different ways of life. Dagestan is traditionally known as the “mountain of languages.” It is inhabited by 102 nationalities, belonging to three linguistic families – Nakho-Dagestanian, Turkic and Indo-European. The most numerous ethnic group in Dagestan is the Avars. The second largest is the Dargins, followed by the Kumyks, Lezgians, Laks, Tabasarans, Azeris, Chechens, Nogais, Tats, Rutuls, Aguls and Tsakhurs. Dagestan also has a Russian population, mostly Terek Cossacks inhabiting the lower reaches of the River Terek and its tributaries.

Random articles