The Upper and Lower Grottos are the architectural centre of the Grand Cascade. They were built between 1715 and 1723 and designed by Jean-Baptiste-Alexandre Le Blond, Johann Friedrich Braunstein and Nicola Michetti. The idea of installing trick fountains in the Lower Grotto belonged to Peter the Great himself.

The museum demonstrates the fascinating interiors of the Upper and Lower Grottos. Visitors can learn the history of the unique free-flowing system that supplies Peterhof with water and see the tunnels and pipes which carry the water to the Grand Cascade and the Samson Fountain. There is also an exhibition of the work of the fountain masters of the past.

The museum is open from 11 am to 6 pm on weekdays (7 pm at weekends and on public holidays); ticket office closes at 5.30 pm on weekdays (6:15 pm at weekends and on public holidays)

No closing days

Random articles