The palace and park ensemble of Oranienbaum was formed over the course of two centuries, from 1711 to 1915. In September 2011, the estate celebrates its three-hundredth anniversary.

Located further down the coast from Peterhof, Oranienbaum completes the long line of imperial residences on the Gulf of Finland. The first owner of these lands was Prince Alexander Menshikov, the former right-hand man of Peter the Great. Between 1743 and 1762, the estate belonged to the future Peter III, husband of Catherine the Great, who also spent many happy days there.

Over the centuries, leading architects, decorators and landscape gardeners have worked to create a unique ensemble at Oranienbaum. One of the masters who left a particular indelible mark on this place was Italian architect Antonio Rinaldi.

Oranienbaum survived the Second World War virtually unscathed. The original interiors and decor have survived from the eighteenth century in many palaces and pavilions. The famous landmarks scattered throughout the park include the Palace of Peter III, Chinese Palace, Menshikov Palace, Rollercoaster Pavilion, Stone Hall and the Chinese Kitchen.

The park is open from 9 am to 8 pm; ticket office closes at 6 pm

No closing days

For information on the opening times of the various palaces, visit the official Peterhof website or call +7 (812) 450-52-87

Random articles